Headlines News
CPISTF Provides $75,500 in Scholarships

October 31, 2017  By PrintAction Staff

The Canadian Printing Industries Scholarship Trust Fund is providing a total of $75,500 in scholarship funding to students for the current school year. A total of $33,000 was awarded to 22 new students enrolled in the first year of an approved course of study. A further $37,500 was provided to 25 continuing students already enrolled in the scholarship program.

The primary objective of the Fund, explains the organization, is to attract the most talented young people available to the printing industry by providing financial assistance to them while they are enrolled in an approved graphic arts management or technical program.

“Every year the Board of Trustees is challenged to select the best and brightest as recipients of our scholarships and this year was no exception,” said Jeff Ekstein, Chairman of the Fund and President of Willow Printing Group. “We are pleased to be able to support 48 students in their pursuit of a career in the graphic communications industry.”

The value of each annual scholarship is $1,500 in addition to the annual presentation of the Warren Wilkins Memorial Scholarship with a value of $5,000. This year’s recipient of the Warren Wilkins award went to Kay-Lynn Saunders who is attending Ryerson University’s Graphic Communications Management program.

The Canadian Printing Industries Scholarship Trust Fund (CPISTF), since its founding in 1971, has provided more than $1 million in funding through the generosity of firms and individuals associated with the printing industries in Canada.

The current members of the Board of Trustees are:

Bruce Bond, Toronto, ON
Mike Collinge (Vice-Chairman), Webcom, Toronto, ON
Jeff Ekstein (Chairman), Willow Printing Group, Vaughan, ON
Harold Hoff, Heidelberg Canada, Mississauga, On.
Mike Mcinnes, Transcontinental Printing, Brampton, ON
Sean Murray (Treasurer), Advocate Printing and Publishing Co. Ltd., Pictou, NS
Ron Schroder, Canadian Flexographic Training Committee, ON
Cory Turner, Spicers, Vaughan ON
Rob Young, Pollard Banknote Limited, Winnipeg, Manitoba
Ian Baitz, Ryerson University
Wayne Collins, British Columbia Institute of Technology

Print this page


Stories continue below