Features Associations Business
CPISTF Funding for 56 Students

August 24, 2010  By

Canadian Printing Industries Scholarship Trust Fund, organized by the CPIA and a scholarship board, announced 56 students enrolled in graphic arts programs will receive $73,750.

A total of $41,250 was awarded to 30 new students, while $32,500 was provided to 26 students continuing in the scholarship program. Each student is to receive a $1,250 scholarship, while Sarah Flynn of Nanaimo, BC, is to receive $5,000 as the winner of the Warren Wilkins Prestige Scholarship, which was established in 2009. Flynn will be attending the British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT) beginning in September, as part of the school’s Graphic Communications Program.

“There was an exceptional group of applicants once again this year and we are very pleased to be able to support 56 dedicated students in their pursuit of a career in the graphic communications industry,” stated Don Gain, Chairman of the Fund, which began in 1971.

The scholarship board includes: Don Gain (Chairman), Harmony Printing Limited, Warren Wilkins (Past Chairman); Wayne Burroughs; Richard Armstrong, Heidelberg Canada; Jeff Taylor, Hemlock Printers; Michael Hill; Violet Storto, Algonquin College; Mary Black, Mary Black Recruiting; Bruce Bond, Unisource Canada; Bob Cockerill, Schawk Canada; Tom Blockberger; and Sean Murray, Advocate Printing.

Print this page


Stories continue below