Features Business Training
Printing Students Receive over $80,000 in Scholarships

September 6, 2011  By

The Canadian Printing Industries Scholarship Trust Fund (CPISTF) has awarded $83,750 in funding to 61 printing students across Canada, including two recipients of the Warren Wilkins Prestige Scholarship.

The CPISTF Board of Trustees has provided a total of $50,000 to 34 new printing students enrolled in the first year of an approved program, while $33,750 was provided to 27 continuing students already enrolled in the scholarship program. This is the highest total funding level awarded by the CPISTF since 2003.

“There was an exceptional group of applicants once again this year and we are very pleased to be able to support 61 dedicated students in their pursuit of a career in the graphic communications industry,” said Don Gain, Chairman of CPISTF. “We are especially happy to be able to assist two very deserving and excellent students with Warren Wilkins Prestige Scholarships.”


Christine MacCallum of Mississauga and Jessica Klein of Hanover, Ontario, both receive $5,000 in funding having won the Warren Wilkins Prestige Scholarship. The remaining annual scholarships have a value of $1,250. Both MacCallum and Klein are attending Ryerson University’s School of Graphic Communications Management this September.

The Canadian Printing Industries Scholarship Trust Fund was initiated in 1971. The current members of the Board of Trustees include: Don Gain (Chairman), Harmony Printing; Warren Wilkins (Past Chairman); Wayne Burroughs (Treasurer); Richard Armstrong, Heidelberg Canada; Jeff Taylor, Hemlock Printers; Michael Hill; Violet Storto, Algonquin College; Mary Black, Mary Black Recruiting; Bruce Bond; Bob Cockerill, Schawk Canada; Tom Blockberger; and Sean Murray, Advocate Printing and Publishing.

Print this page


Stories continue below