News Headlines
CPISTF awards in memoriam scholarships to BCIT Students

February 19, 2024  By PrintAction Staff

The Canadian Print Scholarships awards in memoriam Canadian Printing Industries Scholarships to students in the Graphic Communications Program at BCIT.

Jocelyn Aguilar-Ariscon awarded the Dick Blockberger In Memoriam Scholarship

Blockberger was the third-generation president & CEO of Broadway Printers, a director of BCPIA and Canadian Graphic Arts Association, and director & chair of CPIA. He is recognized for his dedication to the industry with several awards.

Nats Chua awarded the Jack Hazeldine In Memoriam Scholarship

Hazeldine was the president of Hazeldine Press and at various times held the position of president of BCPIA and chair of BCPIA. He was committed to industry training and education, serving for many years on the CPIA Scholarship Trust Fund Committee and was a key contributor to developing the BCIT Graphic Communications Technology Program. In 2003, he became the first Honourary Life Member of BCPIA.

Rainbow Yang awarded the Bruce Brydon In Memoriam Scholarship

Brydon served as president & chair of the Board of Coast Paper and was known for his genuine engagement with staff, customers and suppliers. He was a NPTA Stanley O. Styles Award winner in 1999, recognizing his industry leadership, innovation, dedication and character.

Doug Climie, vice-chair of PrintForward and Scholarship Committee Chair mentioned, “We’re proud to continue to recognize and support the next generation of print leaders with scholarships that honour the legacies of those that contributed so much in recent decades. We extend our heartfelt congratulations to Jocelyn, Nats and Rainbow!”

“The Graphic Communications program is lucky to have had such great support from the industry. Canadian Print Scholarships, in particular, has been and continues to be a strong supporter. We greatly appreciate that, and we hope to continue this partnership as we strive to have knowledgeable, skillful graduates every year.” said Masih Ferdosian, program head of the Graphic Communications Program at BCIT.

“Congratulations to this year’s scholarship recipients! We are very happy to support the academic pursuits of these students as they refine the necessary skills to build a rewarding career within the printing and graphic arts industry,” added Jason Schneider, board trustee at Canadian Print Scholarships.

Print this page


Stories continue below